Eating on the go

I started a new job this week that requires me to be out of the door by 7:45am and gone until 8 or 9pm. That’s all the impetus needed to get me kicked into chef mode. Last Sunday I spent 2 hours meal planning, grocery shopping, and prepping meals for the week and it’s paying off well.

There are a few pros to this:

– eating healthier- I tend to eat well when I’m the one preparing the food

– wasting less- I plan the meals to use off all of the leftovers from the other meals, which also means…

– saving money- since I’m using ingredients more efficiently and not having to buy snacks or meals while I’m out.

All in all using a menu planner works out well for me, and the money I save on not eating out more than makes up for the time it takes for me to prep everything on Sunday.

I seem to be the only one in my office who brings multi-component lunches daily. Is that the case in your office? Do you already bring your lunch? Hopefully this can serve as a dialogue for sharing recipes and tips for not getting bogged down in the mechanics of having to add an extra task to your schedule each week.

Each week I’ll be posting a recipe, snack idea, or meal planning/prep tip that I use to make some pretty fabulous lunches. Starting as soon as I take some pictures that aren’t in a break room!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

